Raleigh Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Aggravated assault is classified as a violent crime. It is a felony charge that typically involves the illegal intent to physically harm another individual with or without a weapon. In general, harsher sentences are doled out when an individual is convicted of using a deadly weapon during the assault or when the victim has been injured or killed. In 2008 (the most recent year for which statistics are available), more than 25,000 people in North Carolina were convicted of aggravated assault.
If you or a loved one has been arrested and is facing aggravated assault charges in Wake County or anywhere in North Carolina, criminal defense attorney Curtis High welcomes you to receive a thorough evaluation of your case, along with professional advice on how to proceed.
Raleigh criminal defense attorney Curtis High has been practicing law for more nearly two decades. He is committed to aggressively representing his clients' rights so they can move through the legal process as seamlessly and successfully as possible. If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with a crime, it is important to consult with an attorney who will fight zealously on your behalf at every stage, from the time of the arrest to an appeal after conviction, if necessary. Click here to schedule a consultation.
Aggravated Assault versus Battery
While aggravated assault involves the violent physical attack of another person, battery is a different (but similar) charge in which a person is accused of unlawfully coming into physical contact with another individual or by touching him/her offensive. Unlike aggravated assault, battery does not involve a weapon and, in some cases, it is not intentional. Depending on the circumstances of the case, battery may be classified as either a misdemeanor or felony charge.
Aggravated Assault & Punishment
Although there is no "typical" sentence for an aggravated assault conviction (due to the unique nature of each case), aggravated assault convictions in North Carolina may be coupled with:
- $250 to $5,000 in fines
- 1 to 3 years in jail
- 2 years of parole
- Attendance to anger management classes
If you’ve been arrested for aggravated assault in Wake County, or anywhere in the state of North Carolina, you can turn to criminal lawyer, Curtis High for aggressive and experienced representation. Contact our law offices today and schedule a private discussion with an assault attorney in Raleigh.